Wetsuit Wearhouse, Surfing Wetsuits, Scuba Wetsuits, Triathlon Wetsuits Wetsuit Advice  :  Customer Service  :  Returns & Exchanges  :  Contact Us  :  Site Map
  Shopping Cart View Cart : items Total: CHECKOUT
   NOW
 
Why Buy From Us? : Visit Our Location : Government and Agency Purchasing  
 
 

All Customer Reviews for "2/1mm Men's O'Neill HAMMER Shorty Springsuit"
Average Customer Review: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 19 Reviews
Write an online review and share your thoughts with others.


4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 tipdance, 9.19.2014
Reviewer: Claude (, )

Good suit for the money.size is true .This is my second one.The last one Lasted 4or 5 years of heavy surfing!

 

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Good fit, 9.15.2014
Reviewer: River swimmer (, )

Fit well size chart right on. Comfortable and comfortable at 68 degrees.

 

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 I Returned It Today, 6.9.2014
Reviewer: Doug (, )

I have an O'Neill 3/2 full suit that fits very well. I thought the Hammer Shorty Springsuit would be cut the same and fit the same. It didn't so I returned it. I've never owned a brand other than O'Neill in 51 years of surfing. They are extremely well-made from top-notch materials, and they last a long time. My only problem with the Hammer Shorty was that it didn't fit. The biggest bugaboo about the fit was that it was way too tight in the armpits. The bind was so tight that it cut off blood circulation down my arms. I was very sorry to have to return it and buy a different brand. Incidentally, that other suit is not as well-made as the O'Neill.

 

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Excellent Suit, 3.13.2014
Reviewer: Brad Weisman (, )

I got this wetsuit in September 2012 and I do not regret my purchase. I've used it countless times since then, and I have never regretted using it! That same month, I wore it for nearly two days straight when I went to a rigorous water sports camp in North Carolina, and I didn't feel the cold at all, and it was incredibly comfortable. Last spring, I wore it during Wednesday night Races under my sailing clothes and regaled in my warmth while everyone shivered to death. I also wore it when we visited the terrifically cold waters of Sandbridge in Virginia, and while everyone else (once again) deigned to enter the water, I alone was able to stand the arctic chill with this invaluable wetsuit. It was a bit too large for me when I bought it, but now I fill it out quite nicely (I'm 6' 0" and about 159. I got the medium). The neck, arm, and leg seals are very effective, as is evidenced by the fact that, post-regaling-in-the-freezing-oceans, I was nearly hot. The zipper works well, and the velcro seal on the back of the neck is large enough to accommodate different circumferences of people's necks. I would most definitely recommend this to anyone who sails, surfs, kayaks, or just needs a wetsuit. Good Job, O'Neill! You have a customer for life!

 

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Excellent shorty for diving in Cozumel Mexico, 8.13.2013
Reviewer: PRS (, )

This wetsuit looks good, wears well, and is rugged, and reasonable price. I used it on vacation in water temperatures ~75 deg F, with no issues. BTW, Wetsuit wearhouse rocks! Thanks for the great service and advice. I will definitely use Wetsuit Wearhouse again

 

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Little Tight, 6.19.2013
Reviewer: Jake (, )

Nice shorty springsuit, but finding right size tough. I'm 6'4", 200 lbs and tried the LT. Length was okay, but very tight in shoulders and last. Was a struggle to get zipper all the way up. XLT probably would be right size, but was told by O'Neil that they don't make that in a shorty, only in full wetsuits.

 

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Is what it is, 4.29.2013
Reviewer: Nick (, )

Wetsuit came as promised. Did what it is supposed to do. A couple of surfs with it and it's nice, comfy, warm, flexible. As long as you do tons of paddling it should hand So Cal a good portion of the year.

 

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Great Suit, 7.14.2012
Reviewer: Bob (, )

I am 6 feet and 2 inches tall and weigh 185 pounds. The medium tall fits well. Very tight at first when dry--as expected. When wet it is a nice snug fit with no arm, leg or neck water leakage at all. Excellent arm movement and no chafing. Very soft and smooth interior. Excellent value for under $100.

 

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Good Arm Movement, well fabricated, 1.31.2012
Reviewer: Colin (, )

I'm 6'4, 174 lbs. (skinny), so ordered the LT, knowing I definitely needed the "tall" cut. It's a good, snug fit that allows full flexibility and good arm motion (I'd prefer sleeveless for my use in Hawaii but it's not offered in my tall size. No chafing at all for my bod, but I'm sure some guys with more meat on their bones may need to smear a little lube (vaseline worked great for my older equipment that did rub my pits). I use my shorty for ocean distance swimming, and find that after about 10 minutes, the suit has pull itself a little to far up into my (average size) genitals, making it slightly uncomfortable, but very tolerable for the hour I'm in it. I wish the front crotch of the "tall" size was cut just a quarter inch longer. Otherwise, the suit stays close to my body, a thin layer of water holds the suit off my lower waist and butt while swimming steadily. I have found that by adjusting the velcro collar "set" I can cut the water penetration down to almost nil; tradeoff is a tighter neck than I prefer. Hawaiian winter surface water isn't THAT cold, and I find I kinda like a slight trickle of cool down the back of my neck, so I'm swimming with it just slightly loose, and am very happy with the choice of totally warm or slightly less. The zipper does seem a tad short, and pulling it up over my lats, it does feel like an overstretch, but seconds later, over the "hump", it's fitting perfectly! Maybe someday I'll pay the price for a custom suit, but not now. $100 range for a top quality (seams and materials) off-the-shelf suit is a very fair deal.

 

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Ricardo Serpa, 7.11.2011
Reviewer: Ricardo Serpa (, )

Fantastic suit, and you can't beat it for the price anyway. Highly recommended!

 

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 short and fat, 6.11.2011
Reviewer: Drudgen (, )

I have not used this at the beach yet, but I tired it on after it arrived (no charge shipping = very fast). I'm 5'-6" 170 pounds. It fits snug, so it should last all season while I shed the excess weight. The material is smooth to the skin and it flexes naturally when I move. O'neil is the only brand that charted my measurements as off-the-rack. I recommend this suit.

 

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 spring shorty, 4.4.2011
Reviewer: demetrius in Orlando (, )

I'm 6'0 and 190 lbs, bought an XL for 68 Degree water at Cocoa bch. stug fit but ok , good streatch for the gut.Does a good job in the water, nice movement. A solid buy. If you are bigger then me ,I'd size up.

 

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Wetsuit Review, 11.30.2010
Reviewer: Cliff Schroff (, )

Bought this suit because of the reviews, ease of entry, and flexibility. It gets an A+ for entry and flexibility, but brace yourself if the water is chilly. The back zipper will seep water immediately. It's like having someone pour cold water down your back. Breathtaking!

 

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Oahu Longboarder, 11.27.2010
Reviewer: AJ Hanak (, )

The only reason I've rated this a 4 is I had a hammer that was 7 years it's senior and was worn in like an old shoe and fit me exactly. I left my wetsuit on my car and lost it. My new Hammer is the same and actually has better neoprene and is more water proof then my previous suit. 2 quams zipper is shorter that makes it a little harder to get in and out of and concerns me that I'll over stretch the stitching. Second the under arms are rubbing ever so slightly but I have not experienced any signs of chaffing. Wet suit Warehouse is an excellent company and I'll recommend them to my family and friends as well as the Hammer wetsuit.

 

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Hammered in a Hammer, 11.22.2010
Reviewer: Capt Mark in Central Florida (, )

First paddle out, 2 foot overhead, got worked inside, light flush, toasty warm, great fit.......

 

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 suit, 7.5.2010
Reviewer: jeff (, )

looks and fits great. havent got wet yet

 

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Lots of flex, 6.16.2010
Reviewer: Steve (, )

Great suit. Not cold at all.

 

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Great, 4.18.2010
Reviewer: Jacek (Vancouver, BC)

Great wetsuit. Ideal for my body (tall and slim).

 

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Wetsuit, 3.17.2010
Reviewer: Karl Wolf (Algonac, Michigan)

Great wetsuit! You can't go wrong with o'Neil

 

Back to 2/1mm Men's O'Neill HAMMER Shorty Springsuit