Wetsuit Wearhouse, Surfing Wetsuits, Scuba Wetsuits, Triathlon Wetsuits Wetsuit Advice  :  Customer Service  :  Returns & Exchanges  :  Contact Us  :  Site Map
  Shopping Cart View Cart : items Total: CHECKOUT
   NOW
 
Why Buy From Us? : Visit Our Location : Government and Agency Purchasing  
 
 

All Customer Reviews for "5/4mm Men's O'Neill MUTANT Hooded Wetsuit"
Average Customer Review: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 14 Reviews
Write an online review and share your thoughts with others.


5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Mutant 5/4, 5.5.2014
Reviewer: J (, )

I don't use this suit for surfing as I'm a kayaker, but I do encounter just as cold water as surfers do kayaking in the cold as hell April water. I've had to roll several times this season (and even had a lil swim in 55 degree water) and this suit not only kept me warm, but it also seemed to keep me pretty dry (the kayaking company wetsuits do not do this!). Paddlers looking for a good wetsuit need not look further. This is a very, very good suit. O'neill should start marketing it for kayakers.

 

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Go w/ Mutant..., 12.19.2013
Reviewer: JJ P (, )

I bought a 4/3 mutant in 2006 and was hooked ever since. 1st off the suit is still in good shape to this day and I been using it frequently every cold-season. I just bought the 5/4 and its even warmer. The interchangable hood is really the selling point. Versatility, flexibility, and keeps you warm. Only thing it needs now is a fly zipper but thats asking kind of a lot for a wetsuit.

 

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 like it, 4.14.2013
Reviewer: jusitn (, )

great suit for the money. i like the removable hood, although the zipper on the back can create a stiff spot on your neck/shoulders during a long session.

 

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Wetsuit Wearhouse is the best!, 1.2.2013
Reviewer: Mikey (, )

My 6th suit from the Wearhouse, customer service is the best. Now about the suit: I'm 6' 180 lbs, originally went for the LT. Always had a back zip suit, so getting in and out of this was a Houdini- like experience. Got some advice about getting in and out of the suit, but still was having a tough time. I opted for the XL, which fits great, with no cold LI winter water flush- through, also, it was much easier to get on and off. Super flexible, great for paddling, not too tough to get on or off and WARM. Bottom line: Best winter suit in it's class, removable hood is a big plus, and, if you're a little old and creaky like me, size it up one for easier on and off.

 

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Don't go by the sizing chart, 12.12.2012
Reviewer: PB (, )

I ordered this suit after carefully studying the sizing chart. It was tight! Especially in the arms and neck. I should have talked to one of the pros first. After one phone call, they took it right back and promptly shipped me the right one. I never used it, but the quality looked fine.

 

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 High Quality/Worth every penny esp cause you only need 1, 10.24.2012
Reviewer: Chris (, )

Ive been using this wetsuit to surf in north east (all winter) over the past year. The versatility of the hood is really nice, allowing me to use only one suit instead of having to buy two (a 3/2 and a 5/4)which saves money. This suit is not cheap but it is high quality and keeps you warm and dry. Stretches really well and keeps the water out with nice seams. Would definitely recommend and buy again whenever it gets old.

 

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Like the removable hood, 4.14.2012
Reviewer: Steve Price (, )

Just surfed with it today in Santa Barbara for the first time. Wind was howling and water was cold ~52 but with the hood this suit was perfect. Great suit for the pice. I love the hood/no hood option.

 

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 My best winter suit by far., 12.13.2011
Reviewer: Singlefin747 (, )

Great suit at the mid-level price. I am able to get the Hyperflex stuff at a very low price, however they dont fit and work as well as O'neill suts so I busted out some $ this year for a good winter suit. I have to say that over the course of 20+ years surfing N. Cal, Nove Scotia, and all over New Enlgland that O'neill suits have held up the best and been the warmest. The suit fits well, I am 6' and 205# wearing an XL. Entry through the neck is easy and doesn't feel like you are going to rip it, like some others. Seams and cuffs do not leak and appear to be well constructed. My favorite feature is the removable hood. So many winter suits have the hood permanently attached and you end up not using it as much in Fall or Spring when you might want the xtra rubber sans hood. All you do is zip the hood off and zip on the normal collar that comes wit it and its just a fullsuit. This also seems to dry rapidly but that could just be my imagination. Bottom line, if you can spare the $ get this over the lower priced suits. It will work better and last longer and you don't have to spend too much more for it.

 

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Above and Beyond, 5.2.2011
Reviewer: About It (, )

This wetsuit was a great investment!!! I surf jersey and was out this past weekend and was sweating out in the water this suit kept me so warm. spent about 3 hours in the water and if it wasn't for my arms being tired i could have stayed out for another 5 hours i was so comfortable in this suit. not restrictive at all either. i had full movement and flexability. I highly recommend this suit to anyone surfing cold water areas.

 

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 great cold water suit, 12.22.2010
Reviewer: steve (, )

this is a very nice wetsuit, best ive had yet hands down. i work in MI as a commercial diver and spend 3 hours under water per dive. ive only used it a few times but im very impressed with it. since there's no zipper for the entry it prevents that "oh my god" cold water feeling you normally get when entering the water. the closure system is the only reason i didnt give it 5 stars. its a little difficult getting out of it. i cant wait to take this thing out surfing. this suit is smokin hot and you wont regret buying it. if you have any questions feel free to email me at w a s u r f e r 8 6 @ h o t m a i l . c o m

 

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 excellent suit, 10.25.2010
Reviewer: joe k. (, )

very flexible/warm/versitile use it windsurfing great suit.oneil has really uped the bar on their suits.

 

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Very Satisfied, 1.10.2010
Reviewer: Anderson (Beaufort, SC)

The coldest water I have used the suit was in the 40ís and I was amazed at how warm I still was. Defiantly buy the boots and gloves, for the cold water. Even after getting tumbled by a wave your body is still warm and dry under the suit

 

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Through the winter, 4.7.2009
Reviewer: (, )

I bought this suit around October, and it's treated me good through the whole winter. The detachable hood is awesome for the April-May months or whenever its nice out. Its a good quality suit; I use it pretty much every weekend and it hasnt stretched out hardly at all. I'm expecting to get another 2-3 seasons out of it at least. I think the water got down to about 37 degrees in DE this year and the suit defintely kept me warm.

 

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 very warm, 9.23.2008
Reviewer: (, )

this is a comfortable and flexible and warm, and its nice to have a detachable hood so when you dont want to wear the hood you dont have to.

 

Back to 5/4mm Men's O'Neill MUTANT Hooded Wetsuit