Wetsuit Wearhouse, Surfing Wetsuits, Scuba Wetsuits, Triathlon Wetsuits Wetsuit Advice  :  Customer Service  :  Returns & Exchanges  :  Contact Us  :  Site Map
  Shopping Cart View Cart : items Total: CHECKOUT
   NOW
 
Why Buy From Us? : Visit Our Location : Government and Agency Purchasing  
 
 

All Customer Reviews for "5/3mm HyperFlex Surf Hood"
Average Customer Review: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 20 Reviews
Write an online review and share your thoughts with others.


5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Performs well - NJ winter surf, 3.9.2014
Reviewer: Allan B. (, )

I'm new to NE winter surfing (moved from So. Cal) so all this thick neoprene has been an experiment. The hood was a good value and I haven't had any discomfort with cold - except my face. Oh well its an outdoor sport. The hood puts up some resistance to head turning but that may be the case with any hood. I like the drawstring feature around the face - can be adjusted as desired. Can't comment on durability yet.

 

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Outstanding. Easy to put on and take off., 6.15.2013
Reviewer: Chitown Rabbit (, )

Super, beyond expectation. Head does not feel cold water (44F) at all. I swam around mile.

 

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Awesome hood, great price!!!, 4.24.2013
Reviewer: Matt G (, )

This is an excellent hood - very happy with my purchase because it got me out into 41 degree NY water for my coldest water surf session ever. Paired it with a 4/3 suit, 5 mm boots and 3 mm gloves. I was warm and felt comfortable during my session. PROS Warm, Cheap, Good looks (better in person than in the photo) CONS Lets in a little bit of water, which I assume is impossible to not have happen. If you get worked, the brim can flip up easily, soft material not rigid - not really sure if that's a good thing or not. A little bulky under the collar but I like the added protection of the bib. Thanks Wetsuit Warehouse another amazingly fast shipment and great product!

 

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Awesome hood, great price!!!, 4.24.2013
Reviewer: Matt G (, )

This is an excellent hood - very happy with my purchase because it got me out into 41 degree NY water for my coldest water surf session ever. Paired it with a 4/3 suit, 5 mm boots and 3 mm gloves. I was warm and felt comfortable during my session. PROS Warm, Cheap, Good looks (better in person than in the photo) CONS Lets in a little bit of water, which I assume is impossible to not have happen. If you get worked, the brim can flip up easily, soft material not rigid - not really sure if that's a good thing or not. A little bulky under the collar but I like the added protection of the bib. Thanks Wetsuit Warehouse another amazingly fast shipment and great product!

 

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Good, 4.23.2013
Reviewer: J (, )

Good luck finding an XL (or 2XL, doesn't exist) hood that has a bit of a bib, a visor, and a pull string. There aren't any others. Have the XL 5mm and 3mm of this model. I have a 25" head and 17.5" neck. The 5mm is really hot even in 40 degree ocean. At my size it makes the 5mm uncomfortable. The 3mm is more comfortable, but I still put the face area around a big bowl to stretch it out. Even when it's extremely tight around the face water still flushes in pretty good when duck diving. I have a long neck, so the bib acts more like a neck extension rather than staying true to shape. If a big size is a priority you can make do with the 3mm, otherwise I'd spend a little bit more for better quality.

 

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 5/3mm Hyperflex Surf Hood, 10.11.2012
Reviewer: dennis (, )

nice long bib, fits great.

 

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Nice hood - great price, 4.24.2012
Reviewer: Tim (, )

I've got an average to slightly smaller head and went for a medium - fits perfect - tight but not too tight (what you want). WARM - nice 5mm. Never had any trouble with hood pulling up out of suit. Does not go over chin really like some hoods. Visor is useless but doesn't get in the way either. WARM.

 

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 The creases ruin this perfect hood, 1.19.2012
Reviewer: New England Surf (, )

The hood is excellent in water, but hard to keep below your mouth to talk. (as it should be) The only reason why i rated it 4 instead of 5 stars is because the way it came packaged is awful. It was folded and packaged wrong way and have cervices that i cannot get out

 

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 warm lids, 4.18.2011
Reviewer: jillbilly (, )

Well made, no frill manly hood addition. Could be a bit more flexy.

 

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 good hood, 12.15.2010
Reviewer: doc (, )

like the hood alot. trust the sizing chart (and not the reviews - i think people forget these NEED to fit tight or else you will have a slurpee headache the entire sesh) my only complain is the brim, pretty useless & mine has a huge crease in the middle which hasn't given away yet. but def good stuff, very warm in 50 degree water

 

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Great winter hood., 11.29.2010
Reviewer: Benjamin M (, )

Brim is pretty useless idk why they put it on. But besides that its a great hood. Its real warm without being too restrictive. The neck however is a bit short but not that big of a deal. I use mine with a 4/3 hyperflex amp chest zip and it works real nice.

 

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Wonderful!, 8.2.2010
Reviewer: Flyboy24471 (, )

Best hood i've ever bought. Would do it again! Great Hood.

 

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Perfect, 5.24.2010
Reviewer: j (, )

Other then the rim for the sun which doesnt help it is an awesome hoodie. i have a huge head and the large was a good fit, nice and warm. highly reccomend.

 

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Good hood for the money, 1.23.2010
Reviewer: Eric (Fayetteviile, PA)

Nice hood for the money. I was a bit concerned about the sizing b/c I have a big neck and smaller head but first time out the large fit real well. Just trust the sizing chart.

 

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Almost right, 1.15.2009
Reviewer: (, )

Got this in and tried it on out of the box. It fit tight but didnt give the clostrophobic feel which was nice. In the water though, I noticed it was short in the neck which caused an excessive pulling down of the chin and really wore my neck muscles out during the surf session. I had to go to my head cap in order to finish the session. If you have a small head and short neck, this might be just right for you. Mine is gonna end up on craigslist cause I cant use it and enjoy surfing at the same time.

 

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 pretty solid, 12.27.2008
Reviewer: (, )

It is an extremely warm hood and does the job very well. Be careful of your head size though because the XL isn't that big

 

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 -Does the job!, 11.13.2008
Reviewer: (, )

Being that I had to go with the largest available, it's snug: I really could have used one size higher. It's definitely going to work for me, but my face is squeezing out the front! Good company to deal with, and well made product: they should do well. (Improve shipping speed somewhat?)

 

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 warm hood, 10.8.2008
Reviewer: (, )

nice warm hood, brim did not shade eyes from sun but then I have a big head.

 

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 I like it, 9.18.2008
Reviewer: (, )

Fits just right. I'd say the sizing chart is perfect. I do have a long neck and it felt too short dry but was good when it got wet.

 

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Good Hood, 12.18.2007
Reviewer: (, )

Using it for windsurfing. Brim rather short, Fits face snugly, neck is loose. Sizing chart seems about right. Neoprene's outer surface sheds water so less windchill. Nice thickness. Kind of restrictive but it's better than wearing a wet ball cap when you're wet and it's cold.

 

Back to 5/3mm HyperFlex Surf Hood