Wetsuit Wearhouse Wetsuit Advice  :  Customer Service  :  Returns & Exchanges  :  Contact Us  :  Site Map
  Shopping Cart View Cart : items Total: CHECKOUT
   NOW
 
Why Buy From Us? : Visit Our Location : Government and Agency Purchasing  
 
 

All Customer Reviews for "5/4/3mm Men's Hyperflex FLOW Hooded Wetsuit"
Average Customer Review: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 20 Reviews
Write an online review and share your thoughts with others.


5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Very warm, 12.14.2013
Reviewer: Dave (, )

Was not sure what to think about this suit at first. Getting in to it was similar to getting in to a 4/3 ( no issues). The hood was tricky getting on/off but was worth the effort. Three hours in 43 degree water and stayed comfortable. Very happy with purchase.

 

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Not a good fit., 12.10.2013
Reviewer: Jeff (, )

I'm 6'1 and about 210lbs. This XL didn't fit me, really tight around last and armpits. I noticed the zipper doesn't come with a snap lock either. Like others mentioned in previous reviews, the hood cord is too short and the logo could use an update.

 

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Great and reliable!, 3.24.2013
Reviewer: Cody (, )

Great suit for the money you pay! Hood can be a little bit of a struggle but it does what is says it does! Couldn't find a better buy!

 

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 3 year test, 11.29.2011
Reviewer: Neil N (, )

Third winter on this suit in Alaska. Starting to leak a little in the back and under the arms but otherwise has held up well. A little fraying around the ankle cuffs but the wrists and neck/hood are holding up fine. Have surfed it in the upper 20's air with water temp 38 and still reasonably warm, but started to chill after 2 hrs during lulls. Definitely worth the money. So comfortable and easy to get in and out of.

 

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 best suit owned, 12.26.2010
Reviewer: dave (, )

I got this suit not too long ago and its great. I would agree with the other reviews in that its great for its price, but i would say its just a great suit all round. I cannot stand being cold and I'm one of those people who always seem to be cold. I have owned rip curl, quicksilver, and excel wetsuits, all of which were disappointing. They all are so gimmicky with their 'patented technology' it drove me crazy. I surfed for about an hour the other day in this suit (air temp 36, water 41) and was completely warm. its also really stretchy and comfortable. dont be suckered into all the advertising of the big names its all BS anyway. trust me this suit will keep you warm and happy and plus you will not look like a kook with some $500 wetsuit on.

 

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Great so far, 12.11.2010
Reviewer: Pete (, )

I bought this suit in October, and have been surfing Lake Michigan so far. Yesterday, the wind chill was 20 degrees and the water temp was 40. I was plenty warm. I am also using some 7mm boots and 7mm gloves, which keep the hands and feet incredibly warm. There was snow on the beach and I was plenty warm. Another reviewer indicated it is tough to get in and out of the suit, that is true. I have used it about 10 times so far, and no signs of excessive wear and tear.

 

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Winter on Jersey Shore, 12.3.2010
Reviewer: SurfandSUP (, )

You wont find a better winter suit for the money. Solid construction, very warm, not too bulky, a little tough to get into and out of. This is a no compromise suit.

 

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 exellent value, 11.10.2010
Reviewer: Gary (, )

if you are even considering buying this suit...just do it. this suit is built tough as nails and the price is unbeatable. It looks really crappy because of the stupid logo. Seriously, if they are trying to compete, why not make it look cooler? Anyway the logo is black on black so its not very prominent. As to warmth, very warm. I surf in NJ and I took it out today...about 55 degrees in the water and I was sweating my ass off. Granted, its a little to early for a 5/4/3, but I wanted to test it out. Plenty flexible. HYPERflexible, rather. haha. This is a very difficult suit to get on and off though. At first I thought it was too small but just take your time, and you will figure it out. ONE PROBLEM with this suit (another reviewer found the same problem): the cinch string around the face is waaaaaay too small. the neoprene can stretch much more than the cord will allow it to. My face was turning purple, so i tied a longer string to one end of the short string and pulled it through (replacing it). Much better, easy fix. Highly recommended suit. don't be afraid...buy it. Not nearly as stylish as other brands, but I would say quality is equal to comparable o'neill or xcel suits. This was my first hyperflex. I have owned mostly oneills, and I wear an "M" in both brands. (true to size)

 

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 GREAT BUY, 3.17.2010
Reviewer: Bob (Newport, RI)

This is an excellent wetsuit for the price. Keeps you warm and is very flexible. The best wetsuit for the money.

 

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 great buy, 2.26.2010
Reviewer: justin (seattle, WA)

keeps me warm for hours in the cold water. easy to put on and take off. comfortable. it seems durable, but i have only used it about 10 times. overall this wetsuit has been very good to me.

 

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 greatt price!, 12.23.2009
Reviewer: Jeff loesser (washington Crossing, pa)

I surf in NEW JERSEY all year long and I bought this suit for JAN-MAR and it was only $200 which is about $100-200 cheaper than any other suit out there. SOoo I'm pretty happy, I haven't used it yet, since i just got it, but i tried it on and its really nice, and should be an awesome suit.

 

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Does it's job, 12.6.2009
Reviewer: Bill (NY, NY)

Warm and easy to get in and out of. The stichting is done really well and have had no problem with the suit getting flooded, ussually come out of the water dry. On my last time out the water temp was 53 and I was wishing I could afford a 4/3. This suit will definitely get me through the cold North East winter. As mentioned in another review the only problem with this suit is you can't easily get your head through the hoody when your to warm. This is only because Hyperflex made the pull cord to short. I replaced this string and now have no problems.

 

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Excellent, until it starts falling apart, 8.10.2009
Reviewer: (, )

When I first purchased this wetsuit, it was completely waterproof. I was completely dry and comfortable even when wiping out in the coldest New England weather. The designers of this wetsuit had put some of the most critical features in a winter wetsuit at a low, low price--poly fleece lining (in the hood as well), asymmetrial chest-zip, double-barrel lock on the shoulder and hood, taped seams, and superstrech neoprene. After 5 months of light to moderate use (1-2x/wk), the seams began to leak slightly at the critical points. I've always been very gentle with my wetsuits, rinsed them in freshwater after use, and placed them on top of drying racks afterwards. I began using the wetsuit once again the following season and the seams quickly deteriorated. The tape fell off of in high-stress areas. I had to purchase a new wetsuit as a result and used this on the warmers days, after using aquaseal to mend the areas that are failing. I probably have about 1 more light-use season left in this suit down to about 40 degree water temps, but it will probably require mending it every 2-3 sessions. If the wetsuit was more durable, it would receive an unequivocal 5 stars from me. But, at this price, you would probably be better off getting a brand new suit every season or two rather than purchasing a similar high-end suit from a better-known surf company for almost 2x as much and hoping it lasts 2x as long.

 

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 5/4/3 Hyperflex, 3.7.2009
Reviewer: (, )

Fit was great. Comfortable and nice features. Kept me warm for 2.5 hrs in 40 deg water Sitka, AK, with approx 10kts wind. Only complaint is wrist seal rolled up easily flushing my gloves which they didn't on my old Rip Curl. Great price though. Could probably use a little thicker hood (or at least crown) to keep the wind off. Probably pushing the boundary on the lower design temperature.

 

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Impressive for the $$$ - VA, 2.25.2009
Reviewer: (, )

I've been wearing Xcel's for a while now and they are great suits- extremely flexible and very warm. I decided to try something different this year in order to save a buck and also to support a smaller manufacturer. This is a great suit. I have worn it many times in cold east coast winter water and it is plenty warm and flexible. Definitely a new fan of Hyperflex.

 

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Good suit, Bellingham WA, 1.27.2009
Reviewer: (, )

First impressions are good. Dove in the lake after walking through ice to get there and was fine except may hands and feet. Booties and gloves are on their way. I don't know enough to say for sure, but it seams like a solid quality suit. It is very comfortable. Size is an issue I struggle with often being tall, but not freakishly tall and this suit worked out. Stretchy. The top entrance means that it has to stretch over your shoulders to get it on. A little trickier than the back zip suits Ive used in the past, but once on you don't feel a zipper running down your back and the suit doesn't unzip on you. The suit also looks better in person than the pic gives it credit. Overall I would say it's a very good buy. I've never owned a full thick suit before and don't have anything to compare it to, but there are no glaring quality issues and friends with Billabongs and Rip Curls both like it more than theirs. Another friend with an Xcel says this suit has better features for the price. When I was looking to buy one Henderson was recommended as high quality. I would make the same choice again.

 

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 flexable, light wieght, NW Washington, 11.18.2008
Reviewer: (, )

Just purchased this wetsuit and have worn it once. The reason I purchased it was no other suit would fit me right. I am a big guy at 250 lbs. 2xl in other brands were too tight. and 3xl were too sloppy...I purchased this suit in a 2xl. and it is so stretchy it molded right to my shape. The hood was the only tight part. But my expierce with this type of suit is things only get looserand spagetti like over time. My other expierence with this type of all super stretchy suits is they run a bit colder as they age. So I stuck with the 5 mil. even though some folks in my area do where 4 mils in other brands from time to time. Out of the box it is plenty warm for 52 degree water. But well see how it does in 48 degree water after it is a year or two old. This suit is very lightwieght so my guess over time it might not keep this old man warm in the most fridgid days. But i feel overall I definatly made the right buy and out of the box it kept me toasty warm in 52 deg water. Very flexable.

 

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Northeast, Cape Cod, 11.8.2008
Reviewer: (, )

Just entered my second season with this suit. Head high, moderate time under water. Dry, warm, warm, warm. The only penetration was one on the head paddling out- small amount on one ear. Best suit for the money or is it short money for a real good suit. Jack--P.S. eleven of my friends wear them.

 

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Good Price, 9.15.2008
Reviewer: (, )

Best complete suit for the money

 

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 San Diego Surfer shreds the North West!, 9.18.2007
Reviewer: (, )

I moved to washington and for the first time in my life I needed a wetsuit with hood, booties, and gloves. I hated wearing my 3/2 in San Diego and really didn't look forward to trying to surf in a 5/4/3 with the hood ,booties, and gloves. I went out in my new wetsuit and I was amazed at the performance and warmth of surfing in this wetsuit. The flexibility in this wetsuit was better than my 3/2!!! I was so warm that it felt like I was surfing in the warm San Diego summer surf!!!

 

Back to 5/4/3mm Men's Hyperflex FLOW Hooded Wetsuit